Committee and Speakers


Our keynote speakers will present on the Digitalisation of Storage. 

Professor Simone Abram

Professor Janusz Bialek

Merlinda Andoni

Jim Cardwell

Professor Steve Caughey

Dr Dénes Csala

Carl Ennis

Nick Herbert

  • Policy Advisor for Electricity Storage
  • BEIS

Professor Furong Li

Professor John Moriarty

Dr Myriam Neaimeh

Professor Ulrich Stimming

Professor Yulong Ding

Dr Nuria Tapia-Ruiz

Dr Sara Walker

Karl Ward

Science Board

The science board are a team of academic and industry experts, their role involves participation in setting the content for the conference, with responsibilities including inviting of keynote speakers, selection of papers for oral and poster presentations and session chairing.

Dr Haris Patsios

Professor Phil Taylor

Professor Phil Blythe

Professor Andrew Cruden

Dr Chris Dent

Dr Siân Dutton

Dr Nuria Garcia-Araez

Professor Seamus Garvey

Dr Damian Giaouris

Professor Jon Gluyas

Dr David Greenwood

Professor Harry Hoster

Dr David Howey

Dr Andrew Jenkins

Anne-Claire Leydier

Dr Mohamed Mamlouk

Professor Christos Markides

Dr Zoya Pourmirza

Dr Jonathan Radcliffe

Professor Dan Rogers

Dr Natasha Shirshova

Dr Rebecca Todd

Dr Neal Wade

Administrative Support from Newcastle University

Lindsey and Faye are the admin supporting the conference and UKES 2019 team; if you have any queries please email and

Faye Harland