Call for Papers

Submission Guidelines

Papers offering research contributions to the area of security standardisation are solicited for submission to the SSR 2019 conference. SSR will also accept Systematisation of Knowledge (SoK) papers relating to security standardisation, which integrate experience and previous research, drawing new comprehensive conclusions. SoK papers should evaluate, systematise, and contextualise existing knowledge. They should provide a new viewpoint, offer a comprehensive taxonomy, or cast doubt on long-held beliefs, based on compelling evidence. We also welcome SoK papers that document existing standardisation practices and analyse their weaknesses and strengths. Papers may present theory, applications or practical experience in the field of security standardisation, including, but not necessarily limited to:

List of Topics

access control


cloud computing

critical national infrastructure protection

standards consistency & comparison   

critiques of standards


cryptographic protocols

cryptographic techniques

evaluation criteria

formal analysis of standards

history of standardization

identity management

industrial control systems security

internet security

interoperability of standards

intrusion detection

key management and PKIs

standardisation process management 

mobile security

network security

open standards and open source

payment system security


regional and international standards

RFID tag security

risk analysis

security controls

security management

security protocols

security services

security tokens

smart cards

telecommunications security

trusted computing

web security


Internet of things

data protection law and regulations


Organizing committee

Program Committee

  • Steve Babbage, Vodafone, UK
  • Liqun Chen, University of Surrey, UK
  • Jean Paul Degabriele, TU Darmstadt, Germany
  • Orr Dunkelman, University of Haifa, Israel
  • Marc Fischlin, TU Darmstadt, Germany
  • Britta Hale, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway
  • Harry Halpin, INRIA, France
  • Tibor Jager, Paderborn University, Germany
  • John Kelsey, NIST, USA
  • Stephan Krenn, AIT Austrian Institute of Technology GmbH, Austria
  • Xuejia Lai, Shanghai Jiaotong University, China
  • Thalia Laing, HP, UK
  • Tancrede Lepoint, SRI International, USA
  • Peter Lipp, Graz University of Technology, Austria
  • Shin'Ichiro Matsuo, Georgetown University, USA
  • Catherine Meadows, Naval Research Laboratory, USA
  • Chris Mitchell, RHUL, UK
  • David Naccache, ENS, France
  • Andrew Paverd, Microsoft Research Cambridge, UK
  • Kenneth Paterson, ETH Zurick, Switzerland
  • Mark Ryan, University of Birmingham, UK
  • Kazue Sako, NEC, Japan
  • Peter Schwabe, Radboud University, The Netherlands
  • Ehsan Toreini, Newcastle University, UK
  • Claire Vishik, Intel, USA