Culture, Class, Connection

Welcome

You are very welcome to the website for Culture, Class, Connection: Bridging Debates on Class and Inequality in the UK and Japan. We are a group of academics who have come together with the aim of developing a network of scholarship and enquiry into issues of contemporary class formation, identity and the different dimensions of inequality in a comparative international context. This website will provide you with information about the team, our interests, activities and how you can make contact with us. 

 

戻って来ました! We're Back! Announcing our Japanese Hybrid Programme for Autumn 2021

CCC VSE labelled

W‌e're really pleased (but also a bit sad!) to announce the last event in our CCC programme. A 'Virtual Student Exchange' (VSE) for Gakushuin and Newcastle Geography, Politics & Sociology students on Thursday 16th December, 9-10am UK Time/6-7pm Japan Time. Students, please see your email for an invitation and registration information.

CCC Autumn montage 220921

Following on from our international workshops and panel discussions last month, we are delighted to announce the third event in our Autumn Programme. Our symposium on the enduring legacy of the late Marxist historian, Culture and Class: Rethinking EP. Thompson, will take place on Friday 22nd October at 1pm UK time/9pm Japan time/8am US Eastern time. Once again, we have assembled a distinguished panel to reflect on Thompson's enduring legacy for shared understandings of contemporary class formation and conflict across borders and cultures. Please come and join us and spread the word on this event which is open to all. Once again we'll also be using simultaneous translation to overcome language barriers. Please register at: Culture & Class: Rethinking E.P. Thompson Tickets, Fri 22 Oct 2021 at 13:00 | Eventbrite

 

Three funder logos

Our project is jointly funded in the UK by the AHRC & ESRC under the 'Japan-UK Social Science and Humanities Connections' call. It is also supported by the Japanese Government Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science & Technology's (MEXT) 'Kakenhi' Grants-in-Aid for Scientific Research Programme.

Our partner institutions.

Gakushuin University logo LSE & University of Manchester logos

 

 

‌‌