British Society for Proteome Research

The British Society for Proteome Research (BSPR), is a registered incorporated charity (Registered Company Number 6319769, UK Charity Number 1121692) and aims to advance the science of proteomics, to further public education therein and to promote study and research work in proteomics and related subjects for the public benefit.

The BSPR represents both the Human Proteome Organization (HUPO) and the European Proteomics Association (EuPA) in the UK and is affiliated to the Royal Society of Biology.


The objectives of the British Society for Proteome Research (BSPR) are to advance the science of proteomics and to promote the study and research work in this and related areas for the benefit of all. It enables scientists working in this field to keep up-to-date with current developments both nationally and internationally and to meet and exchange ideas with other workers. Unlike many learned societies we have members from a wide range of organisations including industry and the health service, as well as research and academic institutions.

BSPR Memorandum of Association

European Proteomics Association

The European Proteomics Association (EuPA) is the federation of European national proteomics societies. EuPA was founded in 2005 and is a federation of 21 European national proteomics societies. It has been established to coordinate and integrate national initiatives within the proteomics field. The main objectives are to strengthen and promote fundamental research and applications, as well as education and training in all areas of proteomics throughout Europe. EuPA is a non-profit organisation.

The current Executive Committee was elected in December 2020 and is composed by:

  • President: Lennart Martens (Belgium)
  • Vice-President: Connie Jimenez (The Netherlands)
  • Conference & Communication committee: Éva Csősz (Hungary)
  • Education committee: Christine Carapito (France)
  • EuPA Journals committee: Stefan Tenzer (Germany)
  • Funding committee: Juan Antonio Vizcaino (United Kingdom)
  • EuPA Initiatives Committee: Lydie Lane (Switzerland)

In 2014 an Advisory Board was established:

Primarily, a lively interaction between the Committees and the senior member scientists is intended for a continuous development and adaptation of an appropriate strategy for EuPA’s optimal positioning in the Proteomics community. 
  • Head: Friedrich Lottspeich

Current EuPA country members are: Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Polen, Portugal, Russia, Serbia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey and UK/Ireland